Alex’s Birthday Cakes

Baking Date:  February 2010

We invited a number of my son Alex’s friends over for a birthday party at our home.  I made a football cake with a special pan.  I iced it using pre-made chocolate frosting, and piping on the laces.  The name is done in candy melts in the shape of stars, and lettered with blue sparkle gel icing.

For the celebration with family, I made a two-layer butter cake with chocolate frosting and yellow sparkle gel icing.

My dad said “give me a piece with the mustard on it”. He’s such a riot. Not.

Baking Date: February 2011

Since Alex’s birthday falls right in the middle of basketball season, I made these mini-butter cakes and decorated them with orange-colored vanilla icing, black sugar sprinkles and black sparkle icing.  Each kid and coach on his team got their own little cake.  I used a half circle shaped pan that makes six mini-cakes. My husband bought it for me for Christmas.

For the family, I made a sheet cake – chocolate with vanilla icing.  I used the leftover orange frosting, black sugar sprinkles and black sparkle gel icing.

Baking Date: February 2012

I made these chocolate flavored cupcakes with orange-colored vanilla icing for my son’s basketball team and coaches. They are also decorated with black sugar sprinkles and black sparkle gel icing.

Leave a Reply

