Softball Cakes & Cupcakes

Baking Date: May 2011

I was commissioned to make a cake for a friend’s daughter. She played on a fast-pitch softball team called the Maryland Mystics and the goodies were for their end-of-the-season party.

I created a three layer checkerboard cake and frosted it to look like a fast-pitch softball. I hand piped the stitches on with sparkling red gel frosting.

I also created candy melts in dark chocolate, red and white to decorate the side of the cake.

I printed out the logo of the team.  Using two lollipop sticks, I attached it as a banner on the top of the cake.

I added red candy melt stars on lollipop sticks.  The letters were hand-drawn on, in the font style of the logo, in sparkling black gel icing.

I also made individual cupcakes with each team members’ number hand-piped onto a candy star.  The cupcakes were red velvet with cream cheese frosting.  Red and black sugar sprinkles were added.

The extra cupcakes for siblings at the party just had red and black sugar sprinkles.

I displayed them at the party on a disposable cupcake display.  I printed out the logo and taped it onto the plain white sides that came with the display.

Baking Date:  August 3, 2012

I was commissioned this year to make the daughter Ali’s birthday cake and cupcakes.  Ali now plays for The Heartbreakers and wanted the logo incorporated into the cake.

I purchased the 10″ x 2″ heart-shaped cake pan and baked a yellow butter cake.   I carved out the center.  Once the softball was carved out, I sliced off a small section to put back into the middle of the heart so I could frost the inside white.  I used vanilla frosting, dyed red (heart) and florescent yellow (softball).  Small candy melt stars with sparkling red gel frosting spell out Happy Birthday.  Large candy melt stars with sparkling red gel frosting spelled out Ali.  The lines between the softball and the heart are hard black licorice sticks.  The white frosting in the center of the heart was piped on and black sparking gel frosting was used to make the lines inside that circle.  I piped on white frosting around the edge of the heart cake. Additional red candy heart melts were placed around the outside of the softball.

Cupcakes were created for each team member.  They were heart-shaped, red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting.  Each was embellished with a red candy melt heart with the person’s uniform number piped on in sparkling black gel frosting, and red sugar sprinkles.

The cupcakes were placed on a display like the previous year, with The Heartbreakers border created and taped on (sorry, didn’t get a picture of that!)

Leave a Reply

