Baseball Mitt Birthday Cakes

Baking Date: June 3, 2011

I was commissioned to make birthday cakes for two of the boys on my son Alex’s All Star baseball team.  I used the baseball mitt Wilton cake pan and made both cakes in chocolate at the request of the boys.

I used regular pre-made chocolate frosting and a dark chocolate frosting instead of dyeing frosting as directed in the instructions.  For the lightest brown, I dyed some vanilla into a beige brown.  I used sparkling blue gel frosting for the uniform number and name.  Sparkling red gel frosting makes up the stitches on the baseball.

Baking Date: April 2012

This last cake was for the brother of one of my son’s teammates.  His parents commissioned me to make him a baseball cake also.

Leave a Reply

