Corn on the Cob Cupcakes

Baking Date: August 17, 2012

One of the moms from my oldest son’s baseball team is battling breast cancer.  Many in the community have joined the mealTrain — a service that provides an online calendar/organizer to help communities prepare meals for families dealing with illness, surgery, death, birth of a baby, moving, deployments and other life challenges.

Friday, August 17 is the second time I’ve signed up to deliver a meal.  The first was homemade lasagna, french bread and a cherry pie.

Today, I’m making homemade fried chicken and buttermilk biscuits.  The dessert is corn cob cupcakes.

The cupcakes are a box mix butter recipe.  The frosting is classic vanilla from a can.  I used jelly bellys in lemon, cream soda and coconut flavors.  I used laffy taffy in banana for the “butter”.  I topped it off with white and black sprinkles for salt and pepper.

Remember to make sure the jelly beans are all facing the same way – I forgot before taking the picture!

Side view

I made 4 “cobs” and placed them in a disposable tin for easy transport.  I put the remaining jelly beans in the bottom of the container.

Pan full of cupcakes with extra jelly beans sprinkled in the bottom

2 thoughts on “Corn on the Cob Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

