70th Birthday Cake

Baking Date:  October 6, 2012

My mom’s 70th birthday is October 15.  We had a big family and friends celebration on October 7.  Over 100 people joined the festivities, including relatives from Canada and California.

Even though the party was catered, my oldest son Alex and I made mom a cake.  It was red velvet in a heart-shaped Wilton pan.  I iced it using cream cheese frosting.

My son Alex decorated it with different colors of Wilton sparkling gel frosting, spelling out Happy Birthday Nanee (what all the grandkids call her) and a 70.  He added blue candy melt hearts around the side of the cake, as well as one on top of the cake.  Then Alex sprinkled edible blue shimmer dust on top to finish it off.

I know it wasn’t the fanciest cake that day, but to me it was a masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

