Football Helmet Birthday Cake

Baking Date: October 12, 2012

I was asked to make a birthday cake for one of my son Nick’s football teammates.  Andrew also plays baseball with my older son Alex, so we pretty much see his family year round.

On Thursday, Andrew’s dad saw me at the grocery store and asked if I could make him a birthday cake for Saturday.  We settled on a helmet-shaped cake since Andrew is the quarterback of the football team.  It was a butter cake decorated it in the team colors – royal blue and yellow-gold.  I piped on the royal blue/yellow-gold icing using a star tip #16 from Wilton.  The white is sparkle gel frosting.

Before I personalized it for Andrew, I posted the “generic helmet” picture on our local high school football Facebook fanpage.  It happened to be homecoming weekend and I thought the parents, players and students would like it.

Go Lions!

It was Andrew’s 10th birthday, but we all know it’s his jersey number that is most important.  I used star-shaped candy melts in yellow and piped on his jersey number (11) with sparkling gel frosting.  I added the “10” for his birthday in the small circle on the helmet.

Happy Birthday Andrew!

 

Leave a Reply

