Breast Cancer Awareness Cake

Baking Date: October 24, 2012

I decided to try out the Halloween rainbow cake technique, with different colors.  The perfect recipient is a community member who is currently battling breast cancer.  Since October is breast cancer awareness month, pink seemed to be the way to go.

I followed the recipe, with my base cake being strawberry (pink).  I then used white cake, dividing it in half.  I left half white and used Wilton icing color in Rose.

When it came time to ice the cake, I divided one can of white frosting into thirds.  I kept 1/3 white, colored 1/3 light pink, and colored the final 1/3 neon pink (Wilton icing color in Rose).

I topped the iced cake with hot pink sugar sprinkles and pink sugar pearls.

Here’s the cake:

With the extra strawberry cake batter, I made cupcakes, iced with the light pink frosting and topped with hot pink sugar sprinkles.

Here’s the inside of the cake:

Keep fighting like a girl, Krista!

Leave a Reply

