A Call for Taste Testers

Baking Date: December 1, 2012

I’m always on the hunt for new dessert recipes to try out.  But more importantly, I am always looking for new taste testers.  I put out a call via Facebook for local taste testers for a Samoa cupcake recipe (inspired by the Girl Scout cookie of the same name).

I had plenty of volunteers.  In fact, I delivered sample cupcakes to 5 families. While the prep was very messy, the reviews were very positive.

The only thing about the recipe I would alter is putting the caramel/coconut mixture in a plastic bag to squeeze/drizzle on.  The coconut clogs up the hole you cut in the bag.  I would instead drizzle just the caramel mixture and add the toasted coconut on top.  I’ll probably need less coconut next time, if that’s what I decide to do.

By the way – the salted caramel frosting for these cupcakes would be good on anything. Especially a spoon that just goes directly in your mouth!

One of my grade school and high school classmates who now lives in Florida had asked if I make deliveries. Her son goes to Mount St. Mary’s College, which is about a 1/2 hour from where we live.  As luck would have it, our sons have winter baseball workouts at “The Mount”. I told her if her son wanted to meet me on a Sunday at the workout facility, I could give him an orange creamsicle cookie — another recipe I was anxious to try out.

I delivered a batch this past Sunday.  Her son texted me to let me know “they were amazing”.  He told his mom “They’re bangin’!”.  I’d say the recipe is a keeper.

Leave a Reply

