Bridal Shower Cake

Baking Date: December 3, 2012

I was commissioned to make a cake for a former colleague who is getting married.  After discussing particulars with the organizer, it was decided that red velvet heart-shaped cakes with cream cheese frosting would be the choice.

In addition, the bride’s colors are bright pink and something described as “the brown side of periwinkle”.  I opted not to try to incorporate that, since I have no idea what that color is. Or how bad it might turn out if I attempted to mix colors to achieve it.

I used the 10″ heart-shaped pan from Wilton.  I used a box mix and can frosting, just because I don’t have a scratch recipe for either that I have tried and like. I iced the entire cake with cream cheese frosting.  I hand-piped the message using a script font sample I found on the internet.  I piped on stars in pink around the top edge of the cake, and shells along the base of the cake. Pink heart-shaped candy melts were place on top and around the sides of the cake.

I made 6 mini-heart cakes using a pan my husband gave me for Christmas a few years ago.  I used a #18 tip for piping on mini-stars in cream cheese frosting.  In the center, I placed a candy melt heart, done in white with pink sugar sprinkles added in once the candy had been melted and before I put it in the mold.

Wedding Shower Cakes

Two of the six mini-heart shaped cakes are pictured. The others were decorated the same as the ones you see here.

Wishing all the best to Lynn and Eduardo!

One thought on “Bridal Shower Cake

  1. Pingback: HOPE Cookies | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

