2012 Christmas Cookie Bake & Exchange

Baking Date: December 22, 2012

For many years, I have been hosting an annual Christmas cookie bake/exchange.  I invite my mom, sisters, aunts and cousins to come on a Saturday in December to bake and exchange cookies.  I have only missed two years — once when I had back surgery and another year when my mother-in-law passed away suddenly one week in December after a cancer diagnosis.

Over the years, we’ve refined the day.  Everyone now pre-bakes cookies, instead of trying to bake everything at my house that day.  I make cut out cookies (sugar, gingerbread and/or shortbread) for people to decorate.  We break for lunch, and I make a special dessert, so my guests can save the cookies to take home to families.

Here is the dessert I made this year, inspired by a tri-colored Halloween cake recipe.  I just changed the colors to white, red and green for this cake.

The Christmas cake

The Christmas cake

The inside of the cake - the design is different each time you bake it based on the way the batter settles

The inside of the cake – the design is different each time you bake it based on the way the batter settles

Here are some photos of the artists, working on the cookies.  They ranged in age from 4 to 70.  Everyone did a great job.  There was even a cyclops snowman, a zombie gingerbread man (a leg had broken off, so the artist improvised), and a yin/yang symbol, which we are all sure was created by Yogi master cousin Heather.


And here are the decorated cookies:

Here’s hoping your holidays are spent enjoying meaningful moments with the people you love.  Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

