Basketball Birthday Cupcakes

Baking Date: February 16, 2013

My son Alex turns 11 this year.  We found out that one of his classmates has the same birthday as he does.  His classmate played on his football team this past Fall and they are playing on the same basketball team this season.

This past Saturday was the last regular season basketball game for the boys. I made cupcakes for the team and coaches, to help celebrate the boys’ birthday a few days early.  I also created some extra cupcakes for siblings in attendance, as well as some orange creamsicle cookies for adults.

The cupcakes were made from a box devil’s food mix, and poured into white paper cups.  I frosted them with a can of vanilla whipped frosting, dyed royal blue. White and royal blue are the team’s colors. I made candy melts in the shape of basketballs, and piped on the seams with black sparkle gel frosting.  Note:  I forgot to add black sugar sprinkles into the candy melt before I poured it in the first few molds.  This candy melt takes extra time to set because it is so big.  Since I had to make 15 (enough for players and coaches), I didn’t want to waste any, so I didn’t use the black sugar sprinkles in any of them.  Next time I will!  Also – putting the candy mold in the freezer cut the setting time in half.  I was under a time crunch!  You can see an example of adding the black sugar sprinkles in basketball candy melts on my blog entry of a 76ers cake I made.

Chocolate cupcakes with vanilla frosting and basket-ball shaped candy melts

Chocolate cupcakes with vanilla frosting and basket-ball shaped candy melts on top

Extra basketball cupcakes and plain frosted cupcakes with white sugar sprinkles on top

Extra basketball cupcakes and plain frosted cupcakes with white sugar sprinkles on top

I made orange creamsicle cookies for the adults.  This is a rich cookie.  I had one kid (yes, the kids ate these also!) tell me it tasted just like a creamsicle.  Baking note: If you make these on a dark metal pan, the baking time should be 8 minutes.  They bake faster on dark metal, and the white chips tend to darken if they bake longer than 8 minutes on the dark metal.  For light metal pans, 9-10 minutes is fine.

Orange creamsicle cookies

Orange creamsicle cookies

Happy Birthday Alex & Ty!

Leave a Reply

