Spring Cupcakes

Baking Date: March 9, 2013

Saturday evening, we attended a birthday party for a friend.  It had been such a nice day, that I decided to make Spring-colored cupcakes.

The cupcakes were devil’s food, with vanilla frosting dyed in a number of colors. I used the purple, yellow and pink from McCormick’s Neon food color offerings. I also made hot pink using the Rose selection from Wilton.

I tried using the Wilton tulip/flower and butterfly shaped cupcake pan.  I followed the directions, but this is what I ended up with:

Cupcake panThe batter at the level indicated on the instructions did not fill the shape area. It was a bit of a disappointment, and I’ve seen similar reviews about this pan on the internet. It’s a bummer because Wilton products are usually so great.

I iced these cupcakes with the Spring colors, and added sugar sprinkles in a number of pastel colors.

IMG_1274

With the remainder of the batter, I made regular size cupcakes, with the same icings, some plain vanilla icing and pastel sugar sprinkles.

 The kids and the adults enjoyed these festive cupcakes.  No one realized the shaped cupcakes were a baking design “fail”.

One thought on “Spring Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Spring Cupcakes – Take 2 | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

