Easter Rainbow Cake and Chocolate Lasagna

Baking Date: March 30, 2013

We gathered this year for Easter at my mom and dad’s. Two of my three sisters were able to make it, along with my cousin and her parents. I was asked to bring dessert, so I decided on an Easter rainbow cake and a chocolate lasagna.

I modified the Easter rainbow cake from the original recipe. I didn’t have the time, patience or tastebuds for the coconut “grass”.  So I used this instruction method, starting with a yellow cake recipe. The second cake mix was white, which was dyed pink and purple using McCormick neon dyes.  I used yellow dye and the same pink and purple neon dyes for the frostings.

Easter rainbow cake

Easter rainbow cake

The cake was a hit. My niece Callie really enjoyed it:

Callie and Easter Rainbow Cake

Callie and Easter Rainbow Cake

Here’s what the inside looked like. Each time you make this cake, the inside looks unique.

Easter Rainbow Cake Inside

Easter Rainbow Cake Inside

Easter rainbow cake inside 2

Easter rainbow cake inside 2

I also made a chocolate lasagna. My uncle is allergic to eggs, so he was able to enjoy this instead of the cake.

Chocolate Lasagna

Chocolate Lasagna

Chocolate Lasagna inside

Chocolate Lasagna inside

Everyone enjoyed both dishes!

Leave a Reply

