More Home Run Cakes

Baking Date: April 27, 2013

I started a little something last year that was much easier to keep up with when I was unemployed. I would make a “home run” cake for any boy on my son’s team who hit one.

I ended up making 4 cakes last year over the course of 4 months. This year, with both my boys on a travel team, there have been 3 kids who have hit home runs. And we aren’t even into May yet.

I use a box mix and a 9″ round pan. If I only have one cake to make, I use the rest of the batter to make cupcakes for the team.  This time, the boys had requested 2 chocolates and 1 butter cake.

I used canned vanilla frosting to cover the cake. I then piped on the “seams” using red sparkle gel frosting. I made star-shaped blue candy melts and wrote each kids’ name on the stars with the red sparkle gel frosting. White sparkle gel frosting pops better on the blue star, but I was out of white.  I colored some of the vanilla frosting green, and using a #233 tip, piped on “grass” to outline the baseball.  I finished it by writing “HOME RUN” in blue sparkle gel frosting across the top. One boy hit a grand slam, so that’s what I wrote on his.

James Grand Slam

James Grand Slam Cake

Dayne Home Run Cake

Dayne Home Run Cake

Justin Home Run Cake

Justin Home Run Cake

Baseball and grass cupcakes with leftover batter

Baseball and grass cupcakes with leftover batter and frosting

Congrats James, Dayne and Justin!

2 thoughts on “More Home Run Cakes

  1. Pingback: End of Season Baseball Party – Cupcakes and Baseball Cake | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

