End of Season Baseball Party – Cupcakes and Baseball Cake

Baking Date: July 20, 2013

My oldest son had his end-of-year baseball party at the local pool last weekend. Each family was bringing something for the party – of course I was on dessert detail.

I also made chicken wings. It’s a recipe from Alton Brown and it skips the frying part, baking the wings instead. They have been a big hit at parties I have made them for. I won’t say they are healthy chicken wings, but they are healthier for not being fried.  It’s also a time consuming recipe, so make sure you have the time to work on them.

For the desserts, I made orange creamsicle cupcakes (a seasonal cake mix from Pillsbury), with orange creamsicle frosting.  Orange has nothing to do with our team colors, but the boys liked the orange creamsicle gooey butter cookies when I made them, so I figured why not.

I decorated the cupcakes with vanilla frosting dyed royal blue — which is a team color and with a script W for Walkersville. I also added small stars around the W.

W cupcakes

W cupcakes

There was also a teammate who had hit a homerun toward the end of the season. So he got one of my infamous homerun cakes. His mom asked me to make red velvet – that way his older brother wouldn’t want any of it.

Elias homerun cake

Elias homerun cake

Congrats to the 2013 11U Walkersville Lions All Star team on a great season. And congratulations to Elias who joined the team late in the season but was still a contributor.

Leave a Reply

