Gooey Butter Cookie Care Packages

Baking Date:  September 3, 2013

There were a number of our friends’ kids who headed off to college this year. For one family, it was their oldest child who left.  For another family, it was their third of four, so they are pros at this.

I remember how much receiving care packages from my mom meant to me when I was in college, so I decided to start back up my pay-it-forward cookie shipments with special deliveries to these two students.  Note: My pay-it-forward cookie shipments are best sent during when it isn’t terribly hot outside, so I suspend shipments during the Summer.

I made gooey butter cookies for both and sent them off with this note tucked inside:

Like you have to send wishes for a good time to a college student....

Like you have to send wishes for a good time to a college student….

The best part about sending these packages out, is the happiness you create when someone receives the surprise:

Facebook Thank you from Abbey

Facebook Thank you from Abbey

Facebook thank you from Josh

Facebook thank you from Josh

And from one of the moms:

Thank you from a mom

Thank you from a mom, when I asked for her daughter’s college address.

My pay-it-forward packages are small ways to make someone’s day a little better.  I encourage you to find little ways to pay-it-forward for people in your life.

Leave a Reply

