White Russian Cupcakes

Baking Date: October 4, 2013

I was invited to a neighborhood Bunco event night. It’s not the development I live in, but I have friends in this particular ‘hood. These ladies get together not so much to roll the dice, but to shoot the breeze and drink the night away. Now that’s my kinda dice game!

I decided to make a liquor-infused goodie for the party. My choice was a White Russian cupcake recipe.

I modify the recipe for this slightly, since the alcohol tends to bake off while in the oven. Right after they come out of the oven, I brush a mixture of Kahlua and vodka over the cupcakes. Because the cupcakes are still warm, it soaks right in.

For the frosting, I substitute the vanilla with 1/2 a teaspoon of vodka and 1/2 a teaspoon of Kahlua. I added chocolate jimmies and shaved dark chocolate on top.

From the top - cupcakes with chocolate jimmies and shaved dark chocolate

From the top – cupcakes with chocolate jimmies and shaved dark chocolate

Note about the frosting: If you are going to decorate with a fancy tip, the frosting may not cover all 24 cupcakes. I had to stop using the frosting tip and just smooth frosting on for the last 6 of them. You may want to increase the frosting recipe to 4 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, with appropriate milk, Kahlua, and vodka to get the consistency you are looking for.

Leave a Reply

