Margarita and White Russian Cupcakes

Baking Date: November 16, 2013

November 16, I was celebrating my good friend Rebecca’s birthday. We were also celebrating our friend Cassie’s birthday — she had just finished her last bag of chemo for her breast cancer treatment. Because of that, she wasn’t feeling well and couldn’t join us.

Our plans were to have dinner at a local tapas restaurant, do a little dancing when the restaurant converted to a night club, and then head back to one someone’s house for drinking and desserts. At our max, there were 19 fabulous women celebrating our friends’ birthday.

And big props to my husband, who drove a group of us to the restaurant, came and picked us up, and then again picked me up from the after party. What a man!

For the after party, I had made Rebecca’s favorite – White Russian cupcakes. I alter this recipe slightly, by mixing a small amount of Kahlua and vodka and brushing that on the cupcakes when they come out of the oven. I also substitute the Kahlua and vodka mix for 1 of the tablespoons of milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla in the frosting. Note about the frosting: I find that I really have to stretch it to make it cover 24 cupcakes, so my frosting is not piped on as liberally as I like. I would suggest upping by half or doubling the frosting recipe to make sure you have enough. Better to throw away frosting than not have enough!

White Russian cupcake

White Russian cupcake

I shaved dark chocolate and topped the cupcakes with that and dotted on gold sparkle gel frosting.

I also made Margarita cupcakes, which are Cassie’s favorite. This is the recipe that gave me the idea for brushing a liquor mix on top of the cupcakes when they come out of the oven. I used the special pink wave baking cups.

There is plenty of frosting for this recipe. In addition to the lime zest, I added pink sugar sprinkles in honor of Cassie’s battle with breast cancer.

Happy Birthday to these two amazing women!

Leave a Reply

