Winter-themed Peppermint Cake

Baking Date: December 20, 2013

Each year during the holidays, the women from my husband’s family get together for the annual Ladies Luncheon. I’ve been attending since we got engaged.

The host duties rotate each year. The luncheon takes place at a restaurant of the host’s choosing, followed by desserts and coffee at the host’s home. It’s a nice way for the women to get together and see one another for the holidays, without the pressure of preparing, serving, and cleaning up after a big meal.

For the past few years, I have offered to bring a dessert. Each year, I try to make something different. This year, I did a spin on the colorful cake that I originally found for Halloween. This is what it looked like in the spooky colors:

Inside the Halloween rainbow cake

Inside the Halloween rainbow cake

I’ve also done it for Easter, in Christmas colors, for a Ravens fan (very difficult for this Steelers fan), and for a breast cancer battler.

The recipe and prep is pretty easy, but here are some tips:

  • I take the main cake batter (not the divided batter) and make 6 cupcakes with that.
  • Once all the batter is in the pan, I gently shimmy the pan on the counter to get it to settle into the pan and help with the unique design of the cake.
  • the instructions say cook cake as directed on the mix box. Because you are using so much more than one box, I find the bake time needs to be about 55 – 60 minutes. I always use a cake tester to make sure it’s done.
  • The drizzling of the frosting is messy. Make sure you have something under your plate (I use a large paper towel under the cake board, in case the icing oozes off). Once I’m done drizzling all the colors and the icing sets, I then wipe up the extra icing from the board or plate so that it looks neater.

For the Ladies Luncheon this year, the winter-themed twist was adding a little peppermint extract to the white icing. Peppermint extract is strong, so I only used a few drops. That way the taste wouldn’t be overwhelming and you’d get just a hint of peppermint.

So, here is the cake, done with one white cake as the base, and one white cake divided and colored neon blue and royal blue.  The icing was white (infused with a dash of peppermint), neon blue, and royal blue. I topped the icing with white sugar pearls and white and light blue sugar snowflakes.

Winter Peppermint cake

Winter-themed Peppermint cake

I made cupcakes with the extra batter:

And here is all is together:

IMG_1479The inside turned out great — every time you make this cake the inside is unique depending on how the batter settles during cooking.

Here’s the cake after I cut it:

Inside of the winter peppermint cake

Inside of the winter-themed peppermint cake

I hope you have a joyous (and sweet!) holiday season!

Leave a Reply

