Basketball Birthday Cupcakes

Baking date: February 22, 2014

My oldest son’s birthday is February 21. I had made cupcakes for his actual birthday, that were shared with the kids from his travel and all star baseball teams during winter baseball workouts.

On Sunday of the same weekend, Alex had a game with his basketball team (yes, we are a big sports family!). His best friend Ty is also on the team, and the two share the same birthday, with Alex having arrived a few hours earlier on that day than his friend Ty.

So, to celebrate the boys’ birthday, I decided to make basketball cupcakes for his team and coaches, and some treats for the family members who would be at the game.

I started with a yellow cupcake. I used the same chocolate frosting as the baseball cupcakes I had made last year and tried that with the orange sugar sprinkles. I had purchased orange sugar sprinkles because I wasn’t able to find orange sugar pearls at my local craft store, but you can find them online. I quickly realized that orange sugar sprinkles are too transparent, and had to move to vanilla frosting.

Yep, sugar sprinkles are too transparent for the orange to pop on chocolate icing

Yep, sugar sprinkles are too transparent for the orange to pop on chocolate icing

Once I had frosted the cupcakes and dipped them in orange sugar sprinkles, I piped on chocolate frosting for the seams of the basketballs:

Basketball cupcake with seam lines in chocolate frosting

Basketball cupcake with seam lines in chocolate frosting

And finally, I added lion paw candies on top. I had made the lion paw candies for another batch of cupcakes earlier in the week.

The final cupcake all put together

The final cupcake all put together

Here is the batch of final cupcakes:

For the parents, siblings, and fans of the players, I made Rolo stuffed snickerdoodles. Use the snickerdoodle recipe as the cookie base and then follow the steps for stuffing with Rolos. I find that mini-Rolos are best for this recipe. If you use regular size Rolos, the cookies are huge and take a long time to bake. Even with mini-Rolos, I bake the cookies for 16 minutes instead of 14 minutes.

Rolo stuffed snickerdoodle cookies

Rolo stuffed snickerdoodle cookies

Happy birthday Alex and Ty!

Editor’s Note: I always bring Jolly Ranchers, Twizzlers, Skittles, or Starburst when I make goodies for my kids’ team, in case any kid or family member may have an allergy.

Leave a Reply

