More Home Run Cakes!

Baking Date: May 2, 2014

A few weeks ago, my oldest son’s baseball team played a scrimmage against another local team. I was able to be there for the first few innings, but had to leave early to go pick up our other son from his lacrosse practice. I was at the baseball game long enough to see one of the players smoke a line drive home run over the fence.

Each of the coaches turned to me and said “oh, that doesn’t count. This is a scrimmage and it’s a shorter field than ours.”  Puhleez, men. As if a kid who has knocked a ball over the fence cares whether or not it’s a scrimmage or whether the field is shorter than the one they typically play on.

I turned to the kid’s dad and said “what flavor cake?”  His dad said, “I would love chocolate and I’m sure Mickey would be fine with that also.” So chocolate it was.

I left and arrived at my younger son’s practice. While there, I got a text from one of the parents:

And then Nate when yard

And then came this text:

Grand slam

Holy crap, those boys have been eating their Wheaties!

The home run cakes were a single 9″ layer cake in chocolate. They were iced with vanilla frosting, the seams were added on with red sparkle gel frosting, and the grass around the base was made using a Wilton tip #233 with vanilla icing dyed green.  Home run and the date were added using blue sparkle gel frosting. The name is spelled out in red candy melts in the shape of stars with the name piped on with vanilla frosting.

So I made Mickey his cake. He got small stars because the big stars that spell out his name would be too big to fit on the cake. Believe me, I’ve tried it for him with big stars before:

Mickey's chocolate home run cake

Mickey’s chocolate home run cake

And Nate — who also likes chocolate — got this:

Nate's home run cake

Nate’s home run cake

And Owen, who hit the grand slam, got a double 9″ layer cake in golden butter flavor.  I spelled out Grand Slam and his name with the red candy melt stars:

Grand slam for Owen

Grand slam for Owen

I delivered the cakes this weekend, during a doubleheader we had on Sunday. I love bringing joy to these kids:

Check out that smile

Check out that smile

And wouldn’t you know it … another kid hit a home run. Keep those bats hot, boys…and Mrs. Rice will keep the oven cranking out the home run cakes!

3 thoughts on “More Home Run Cakes!

  1. Pingback: Baseball Diamond Cupcakes Cake | Sweet Sweet Muffins

  2. Pingback: Chocolate-on-chocolate Home Run Cake | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

