Lifesaver “Cake”

“Baking” Date: July 15, 2014

As is my custom when one of the kids from my son Alex’s team hits a home run, I make them a home cake. During a July 4th weekend tournament, one of the boys on the team hit a home run. Except that this kid is allergic to most ingredients used to make cakes.

It took me awhile to figure out what might work in terms of a cake. He can have things like Skittles, Twizzlers, and Starbursts, so that’s what I bring for him after each game since he can’t have my cookies, cupcakes, brownies, and other home made treats.

I asked his mom if he could have Lifesavers and she said yes. So I bought a bag of individually wrapped peppermint Lifesavers, and some pull and peel cherry Twizzlers to make his “cake”.

First, I left the LIfesavers in their individual wrappers, folded the sides behind so that the non-Lifesaver embossed side was showing. I taped the sides back and then using a 10″ cake board, taped the Lifesavers to the board.  I created the seams from the pull and peel Twizzlers (Note: You have to pull and peel very slowly because the Twizzlers don’t come apart in one piece very easily).

So here’s the final product:

Lifesaver Cake

Lifesaver Cake

Congrats on your home run, Ian!

Leave a Reply

