S’Mores Cake and Spice Cupcakes

Baking Date: July 25, 2014

For the end of the season baseball gathering for my son Alex’s team, we had a pool party. Families brought sides, salads, appetizers, and we ordered fried chicken.  I was on dessert duty, as usual.

I made team-themed cupcakes. I started with a box spice cake mix. I then used vanilla icing and dyed half of it royal blue.  I piped it on using a star tip.

I still haven’t mastered this dual icing color decorating technique, but I refuse to give up. I will get it at some point!

I also made lion paw candy melts in blue and gold to place on top of the cupcakes. Here’s is the finished product:

Because this was a party for the players and families, I also made a No Bake S’mores Cake. It’s another inspiration recipe I had pinned. Here’s what the steps looked like:

No_Bake_Smores_Cake

Copyright myrecipemagic.us 2013 – 2014 – All right reserved

Bakers note: The recipe calls for 1 cup of heavy cream. I made the mistake of thinking it was a full measuring cup worth, and had to throw out my first batch of the chocolate topping (chocolate soup, actually). Next time, I will definitely consult a weight/measurement converter when the container measurement doesn’t match the recipe measurement. In this case, 1 cup = 1/2 pint.

Marshmallow fluff is a pain. I ended up with some in my hair after wrestling it out of the jar — I have no idea how that happened. #NotMarthaStewart

Here’s my version:

No bake smores cake

No bake smores cake inside

Inside of the gooey, yummy mess

 

The recipe was a big hit with the kids and parents.

Thanks for a great season boys.

2014 12U GVAA Walkersville Lions All Star Team

2014 12U GVAA Walkersville Lions All Star Team

 

Leave a Reply

