Breast Cancer Awareness Cakes

Baking Date: October 3, 2014

In the month of October, I bake goodies for the women in my life who have battled breast cancer. It’s just a small way of saying thanks for being a warrior in the fight – we all support you!

The first cake I made was for one of the moms from my son Alex’s baseball team. She was selected to be the 2013 Orioles Honorary Bat Girl. This October is the third anniversary of her initial diagnosis of Triple-Negative Breast Cancer.

Hope is a very important word to her because originally, the doctors gave her little hope as she also has a heart condition. But she continues on every day, helping others, and making sure to cherish every minute. She appears to be in remission right now. She has two sons and a daughter.

For her, I made a cake using the Duff Pink Camouflage cake mix.  The picture on the box makes it seem like it is very easy to create perfectly round drops of the tri-colored batter:

So perfect!

So perfect! Because Duff has many baking helper fairies, I’m sure.

Well, this is actually what it looks like when someone like me follows the directions on the box:

This is how the cakes came out of the oven:

Looks ok, right?

Looks ok, right?

Baker’s note: where the different colors of cake came together, the cake started to separate, which you can see in the picture.

I iced it using a basket weave technique I saw on YouTube. I used Wilton Rose icing color to dye canned vanilla icing.

The basket weave technique

The basket weave technique

I topped it off with star-shaped candy melts in bright white, with H-O-P-E written on the stars with Wilton pink sparkle gel frosting.

HOPE

HOPE

Her family claimed it was the best tasting cake yet (and I’ve made them quite a few). Here’s a picture of the inside of the cake:

I'm calling this a win

I’m calling this a win

And here’s what the box shows it should look like:

Close enough, I say.

Duff has a staff. I don’t.

Baking Date: October 5, 2014

The next cake I made is for another survivor. This year, she celebrated 7 years in remission.  I had made her a 5 year cake a few years ago.  She is also a mom from my son’s baseball team. She has two sons.

I used the same cake mix, but didn’t do circles or the three colors. Instead, I just did swirls of hot pink batter:

Another technique

Another technique

This is what is looked like after coming out of the oven:

IMG_6175

A big swirly mess!

Baker’s Note: The cake did not separate like it did when I used the drop batter technique as instructed on the box.

This cake was decorated using canned vanilla icing. On the top of the cake, I used the spatula that I had spread the icing on with to make the little “peaks”. I dipped the spatula on the icing and then lifted it quickly. There is a ribbon-shaped candy melt on top, in bright white with pink sugar sprinkles inside. Around the top edge of the cake, I placed pink sugar pearls. Around the base of the cake, I piped stars in the vanilla icing dyed hot pink.

Here’s the inside of the swirl batter cake:

Inside of the swirl batter cake

Inside of the swirl batter cake

This also got rave reviews in terms of how good the cake tasted.

The final cake I made was for a friend who also was diagnosed with Triple-Negative Breast Cancer just over a year ago. She has endured chemo, a double mastectomy, and reconstructive surgery. She had to quit her job because of her aggressive treatment of the disease, and the community has had fundraisers to help her family. She has a son in my oldest son’s class, a daughter in my younger son’s class, and a high schooler.

For her cake, I used a regular white cake mix and, saving some of the batter and dying it hot pink. I dropped small dots of the hot pink batter into the white batter in the heart-shaped pan. I didn’t get pictures of that — sorry!  I went with heart-shaped because I had seen these cookies, and thought I could replicate with a cake:

Inspiration Cookies

Inspiration Cookies

I frosted the cake using canned vanilla frosting. I dyed some icing hot pink and used a star tip for the bra and the same tip as for the basket weave for the straps and outline of the bra. I also added a hot pink border, using the star tip. I made a ribbon-shaped candy melt in bright white with pink sugar sprinkles.

I wasn’t sent any pictures of the inside, but I heard it was good.

To all those out there Fighting Like a Girl, stay strong. To those of you supporting someone in the fight, stay strong. And for those who have lost the fight, we honor your warrior spirit.

 

 

One thought on “Breast Cancer Awareness Cakes

  1. Reblogged this on Cooking Up a Storm With Miss Polly and commented:
    What a wonderful idea Sweet Sweet Muffins had baking goodies for her courageous friends who have battled cancer. There are a line of baking products from Susan G. Komen and others where if you buy the baking mix, a percentage goes to organizations that help others with cancer and also look for new diagnostics.
    Thanks for making a beautiful cake that means so much more!

    Paulette L Motzko

Leave a Reply

