Spider Web Caramel Apple Cupcakes and Perfectly Pumpkin Cookies

Baking date: October 29, 2014

Each year at Halloween, I make treats for my co-workers. This year, I had found a new flavor of cake mix and frosting. I decided to give it a try for this treat. It’s caramel apple cake mix and frosting.

Caramel apple cake mix and frosting

Caramel apple cake mix and frosting

To give the cupcakes a Halloween feel, I used Halloween-themed paper liners. I also made the spider web design on them using orange and black sparkle gel frosting. It’s a very easy technique. You make circles on the cupcake after you have frosted it, and using a toothpick, draw lines down from the center to the edge.

This is how the cupcakes turned out:

One of my co-workers who tried the cupcake turned to me after a bite and said, “Oh. My. Damn.”  I’m going to take that as a thumbs up for this effort and this flavor.

I also made some pumpkin spice cookies, with cream cheese frosting. This is a box cookie mix I found last year, and people love it.

Perfectly pumpkin cookie mix and cream cheese frosting

Perfectly pumpkin cookie mix and cream cheese frosting

These cookies are soft and yummy, and the cream cheese frosting is a great compliment. I made the cookies, and added Halloween-colored sprinkles on top.

Perfectly pumpkin cookies

Perfectly pumpkin cookies

Perfectly pumpkin cookies 2

Perfectly pumpkin cookies 2

All the perfectly pumpkin cookies

All the perfectly pumpkin cookies

The cookies and cupcakes were gone before the end of the day.

Can’t wait to try out some new recipes with my team as we head toward the year-end holidays. They are great taste testers!

 

Leave a Reply

