Thanksgiving Goodies for My Colleagues

Baking date: November 23, 2014

Each year, I bring treats to my colleagues at Thanksgiving to let them know how thankful I am to work with them. There are more than 600 employees in my organization, so I focus on the immediate groups I work with, which includes about 40+ folks. I look for recipes that make a large batch of whatever.

I used shortbread as the base. Here’s the recipe:

2 cups flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon baking powder, 2 sticks softened butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar. Cream brown sugar and butter. Mix dry ingredients together; add to creamed butter/sugar until well incorporated. Roll out batter and cut cookies to desired shape. Bake for 25 minutes at 250 degrees.

First I made turkey cookies. I used a drinking glass as the cookie cutter to get the round shape. I then frosted them with chocolate icing, added 4 candy corns per cookie, sprinkled multi-colored jimmies just under the candy corns, added M&Ms for eyes with frosting piped on for the eyeballs, and piped on a beak and feet using vanilla icing dyed golden yellow. Here’s how they turned out:

Baker’s note: you have to go through the candy corns, and pick out the good ones as not all of them have the yellow/white/orange color.  Also, make sure you turn the m on the M&M face down.

The next cookie I made used the same base recipe, but I added 1 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice to the dry mix. I sifted it twice to make sure the pumpkin pie spice was well incorporated.

I was inspired by this picture:

Inspiration Cookie

Inspiration Cookie

So, here are my observations about this cookie as I made it myself:

  • pumpkin pies are not that smooth, and my icing would not accurately mimic the inspiration cookie
  • mixing that right pumpkin color is not as easy as it seems. It took me modifying copper icing color with black, which still didn’t give me the pumpkin orange I was looking for
  • The “crust” works great with vanilla dyed with ivory icing color

So, with all of this, here is how my cookies turned out:

I packed my goodies for the trip to the office:

Ultimately, it’s about taste. My colleagues were grateful for the treats, and thought they tasted (and looked) awesome. And in the end, I was thankful for that!

IMG_2920

 

One thought on “Thanksgiving Goodies for My Colleagues

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Surprise Cake | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

