Thanksgiving Surprise Cake

Baking date: November 26, 2014

This year, we were able to spend Thanksgiving with my family (we usually travel to visit my in-laws). I offered to make dessert and had found this inspiration cake I wanted to try, called peek-a-boo pumpkin pound cake:

Pumpkin surprise cake

So, I used a pumpkin bread mix, adding in copper icing coloring to get the real pumpkin color. Pumpkin bread is more brown without the food coloring.

This recipe calls for you to bake the pumpkin bread about 10 minutes less than the recipe calls for. Here’s what I found following this method — not cooking the the bread all the way causes the middle to collapse, and makes the cutting out of the shape very hard because the bread wasn’t solid.

Also, you need a small cookie cutter to get the shape – I didn’t have a pumpkin cookie cutter small enough, so I hand cut each pumpkin piece.

I found another recipe technique for this type of surprise cake, that calls for baking the bread all the way through, freezing the sliced/cut out pieces and then baking those inside another cake. I plan to try this for a surprise Christmas cake I’m going to make.

One thing I should have done was not use all the batter from the pound cake that surrounds the surprise cake. It took so long to bake all the way through that the top was too hard.

I iced my cake using leftover icing from my pumpkin pie cookies, instead of the brown butter icing recommended in the recipe.

So here’s how my cake turned out. You can see my pumpkin slices definitely were a little different in shape:

IMG_8761IMG_8760IMG_8762

 

So, I didn’t nail it. But I learned some things along the way. I’ll take those lessons with me when I make my next surprise cake. And hopefully that one will nail it!

Leave a Reply

