Christmas Tree Cake

Baking date: December 13, 2014

Each year, the women in my husband’s family gather for a holiday luncheon. The hosting duties rotate, with the hostess arranging the reservations at a restaurant, and then inviting everyone back to her house for desserts. This year, one of my husband’s cousins hosted the event at her house. The food was catered by Famous Dave’s and the desserts were a number of homemade goodies. Each year, I am asked to bring some sort of dessert.

Last year, my husband had gotten me a Christmas Tree cake pan. I decided to use that to create a dessert.

I started with a french vanilla cake mix. I then iced the cake using pre-dyed icing in Garland Green. For the trunk, I used chocolate frosting and then ran a fork through it to create the effect of the tree trunk.

I added multi-colored M&Ms as decorations (make sure you place the M side down), and piped on gold sparkle gel to create a garland effect. I topped the tree with a yellow star-shaped candy melt. I outlined the tree in Rudolph Red frosting, piped on using a #32 tip.

Here’s hoping your holidays areĀ filled with wonderful moments with friends and family.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Tree Cake

  1. Pingback: Apple Pie Cookies and Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing | Sweet Sweet Muffins

  2. Pingback: Christmas Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing and Specialty Breads | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

