Christmas Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing and Specialty Breads

Baking Dates: December 22 and 23, 2014

My Christmas tradition each year is to bake goodies for the players/families of my son Alex’s Travel and All Star baseball team. This year, I made a multitude of mini-breads and sugar cookies.

The breads included banana, snickerdoodle, pumpkin, sour cream chocolate, and orange creamsicle. The pumpkin bread is a box mix with milk chocolate chips sprinkled on top before baking.

I label the breads so people know what they are getting. Here’s the big bucket of mini-breads after I had baked 90+ of them!

IMG_9380

For the sugar cookies, I had seen a recipe for sugar cookies and royal icing in Food Network magazine, so I decided to give it a try.

I made cut out stockings and piped on the names with green frosting left over from the Christmas Tree Cake I made. I then personalized the goodies with the names of all members of each family. I piped on the outline of the top of the stocking in white royal icing and then outlined the bottom of the stocking that I had dyed red (took a vial and a half of red to get this color!). I then thinned the remaining icing and filled in the piping. Finally, I decorated the stockings using a variety of Christmas sprinkle decorations.

Here’s how the family cookies came out:

There were a couple of other families I included:

And here are the packaged goodies ready to be piled into my sleigh (CRV, actually) for delivery on Christmas Eve:

IMG_9397

So thanks to the families and to the players. It was another amazing year on the field – from the state semi-final game to the weeklong tournament at the Ripken Experience in Myrtle Beach. Thanks to my baseball family for being my “other family”. Happy Holidays, everyone!

2014 12U Walkersville Lions

2014 12U Walkersville Lions

2 thoughts on “Christmas Sugar Cookies with Royal Icing and Specialty Breads

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Kahlua Cake and Orange Dreamsicle Bread | Sweet Sweet Muffins

  2. Pingback: Christmas Cookies and Other Goodies | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

