Random Acts of Kindness Week Goodies

February 9-15, 2015 was Random Acts of Kindness Week. I decided to participate in flooding social media with good news by sharing goodies throughout the week with others. Here’s how my #RAKWeek2015 took shape:

Monday:  On Sunday evening, I baked Rolo-stuffed snickerdoodle cookies. I was mailing them to a friend’s daughter who had just moved to the University of Maryland to continue her undergraduate education. For two years, I’ve been baking goodies for friends’ kids when they move to college for the first semester. On Monday, I shipped them out via priority mail. First random act of kindness done!

Tuesday: Over the weekend prior to Random Acts of Kindness Week, one of the local moms had asked if I could make lion paw cookies for an event at the high school. I was on business travel and wouldn’t have time to bake and decorate cookies by Tuesday — let alone find a lion paw cookie cutter! However, I do have lion paw candy molds (in small, pops, and large size) because our local grade, middle, high school, and recreation league sports are all blue and gold Lions.

I made about 36 candies of varying shapes using royal blue and yellow candy melts. My friend asked me how much and I said “it’s Random Acts of Kindness Week, so consider this my gift.” She was thrilled and here’s how the candies turned out:

Random sizes of lion paw candies

Random sizes of lion paw candies

She posted this collage of pictures to Facebook with a thank you to me. The candies ended up looking great with her other decorations.

Lion paw candies incorporated into the party decorations

Lion paw candies incorporated into the party decorations

Wednesday: On Wednesday, my colleagues and I had an all-day event taking place. It was a big event, bringing together teams from our department, as well as IT, communications, and an outside vendor. Since it was an all day event, I made gingerbread and pumpkin mini-breads for our “war room” so people had goodies to munch on.  I topped them with Sugar in the Raw before baking, to give them a sweet crunch on top.

Because I had made the breads on a week night, I used box mixes. On weekends, I’ll make breads from scratch, but during the week with limited time, I use box mixes.  The breads were gone by lunch.

Thursday: I telework on Fridays, so Thursday was my last day in the office at work for the week. I decided to make Valentine candy hearts. I have two molds for this, one is more rounded mini-hearts, and the other is a flat, larger heart mold. With the mini-heart mold, I made red, purple (discontinued – now available in lavender), and pink (discontinued – now available in bright pink) vanilla candies. I also made milk chocolate candies with the mini-heart mold:

Mini-heart candies

Mini-heart candies

I also made milk chocolate and peanut butter candies in the flat, larger heart mold:

Milk chocolate and peanut butter candy melt hearts

Milk chocolate and peanut butter candy melt hearts

I then created an image that I shared on social media with the hashtag #RAKWeek2015:

Heart my colleagues

Heart my colleagues

Friday: On Friday, I received this text from my friend’s daughter. Unfortunately, the mailroom hadn’t delivered her packages until Friday, even though they arrived on Tuesday.

Nice way to end the week.

Nice way to end the week.

It was a nice way to end a week of Random Acts of Kindness through baking.

Leave a Reply

