Birthday Cake and Birthday Cupcakes

Baking date: May 15, 2015

My son Nick’s birthday is May 14. His birthday fell on a Thursday this year. My parents were coming for a visit to watch his brother Alex play a baseball game Friday night, and watch Nick play a lacrosse game Saturday morning.

I made a cake for Nick – chocolate with chocolate frosting. He is perfectly fine with a box mix and can of frosting, even though I had an awesome recipe from Ina Garten. I’ll save that one for an adult birthday reveler, who will appreciate a scratch made cake!

To add a little something to the cake, I put multi-colored jimmies around the edge. I used white sparkle gel frosting to write Happy Birthday Nick on the top. This is the cake the family enjoyed.

IMG_3336

For his team to help him celebrate on Saturday, I made chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting. I topped these with multi-colored jimmies also, just dipping them in the container to cover the cupcake completely.

I did have 24 of these, but our lab Jake walked over to the kitchen table after I had frosted all of them and licked one. Even though my dad has always said “no one ever died of dog lick disease”, I didn’t want to take any chances.

IMG_3321

Happy Birthday Nick!

IMG_3319

Leave a Reply

