Memorial Day Cupcakes

Baking date: May 23, 2015

On Sunday of Memorial Day weekend, my son Alex’s team was playing in the elimination round of a baseball tournament. We had the possibility of 3 games that day,  in an effort to reach the championship game on Monday morning.

I’ll spare you the suspense — we lost the first game 3-1, so our run for the championship was done. On the positive side? The rest of our Sunday free and all day Monday to enjoy the pool!

Since I bake goodies for the players, coaches, and fans at each game, I made French vanilla cupcakes, with buttercream frosting. The cupcakes were from a box mix. I read a tip once that you should add 1 tablespoon of vanilla to box mixes to made them taste more homemade. So I did that for these cupcakes. The buttercream frosting was left over from cupcakes I had made for a bridal shower. I topped them with red, white, and blue jimmies.

So, while the boys were eliminated early in the playoff round, the cupcakes made the loss a bit easier to take.

Leave a Reply

