New Job Best Wishes Cake

Baking date: May 27, 2015

A member of my team interviewed for and was offered a position in another business group recently. She’s got a terrific work ethic, and I know she’ll help that team tremendously.

To say thank you for her service and wish her well in her new role, I decided to make a cake our team and others in our work area could enjoy. Since her last day with us was a Friday, and I telework Fridays, I made the cake on a Wednesday evening.

When I make goodies during the work week, I use box mix and canned frosting shortcuts. The cake was a box mix is a French Vanilla and the frosting was vanilla (I don’t have a preferred brand of box mixes or canned frosting – I typically stock up on whatever’s on sale). I started adding a tablespoon of vanilla to any box mix recently, which is supposed to make it taste more homemade. No one ever complained before, but I figured what the heck. I always own up to cakes that aren’t homemade, if someone asks.

I used orange as the accent color on the icing. I piped small bursts along the top edge, and larger bursts along the bottom edge. In the center of the bursts on the bottom edge, I added a white sugar pearl.

The letters were made using a mold with orange candy melts. A note about this Bakerella alphabet and number mold – I find that using the freezer is better for cooling/setting the letters. However, I usually have a few letters that break if not completely set (or if I’m too impatient about extracting them!), so plan on having a few do-overs if you use this style mold because the letters are not thick.

I added orange sugar sprinkles on top.

Here’s the cake:

IMG_0012Good luck Katie and thanks for all your hard work these past two years.

Leave a Reply

