Fourth of July Celebration Cake

Baking date: July 3, 2015

This year, with no baseball tournaments left in the season, we were spending our first 4th of July in five years by ourselves. I do miss my baseball family, but it was going to be nice to spend the holiday with just my immediate family.

We planned for burgers on the grill, corn on the cob, and baked beans for dinner. For dessert, I asked my husband and boys what kind of cake they would like. My husband quickly spoke up that he would prefer yellow cake with chocolate frosting.

So that’s exactly what I made. I used a box cake mix and canned frosting to create the cake. To make it a bit more special, I decided to add some red, white, and blue decorations.

While I was shopping at a craft supply store earlier in the day, I saw the Wilton Letters and Numbers Fondant and Gum Paste mold. I called the toll free number on the packaging to see if I could use the mold with candy melts. The very nice rep on the phone let me know I could, so I purchased the molds.

After I iced the cake, I added on July 4th using the molds with bright white candy melts. I had put a few red and blue jimmies into the molds before putting in the candy melts.  I also sprinkled the red, white, and blue jimmies around the top edge of the cake.

IMG_0170

Finally, I had made some blue candy melt stars with edible white shimmer dust for another project. I decided to bling up the cake a bit more by placing the extra stars around the cake.

IMG_0172

For those that celebrate, I hope your 4th of July was just as sweet!

One thought on “Fourth of July Celebration Cake

  1. Pingback: Stars and Stripes Cupcakes | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

