Stars and Stripes Cupcakes

Baking date: July 4, 2015

I subscribe to Food Network magazine. In the July issue, there were a number of red, white, and blue dessert inspiration recipes. One that caught my eye was a photo and recipe for Stars and Stripes cupcakes. Here’s the inspiration photo:

Inspiration photo from Food Network

Inspiration photo from Food Network

I decided I wanted to try the cupcakes. The only drawback – with raspberry flavor in the icing, I knew my boys wouldn’t eat them. No worries — I have plenty of taste testers in my community who are happy to try new recipes for me!

I made the candy melt stars first. I used wax paper instead of parchment paper, but that worked just fine. Here are the stars:

IMG_0165

To give them some extra pizzazz, I brushed on edible white shimmer dust. I used the extra stars on a July 4 cake I made.

I bought the Wilton ColorSwirl 3-Color Coupler to be able to easily swirl on the two colors. I added red and white sugar sprinkles on my cupcakes for some extra sparkle. Then, I placed a candy melt star on the side of each cupcake.

This is what my cupcakes looked like:IMG_0173

Here’s a view up close:

IMG_0174

I delivered the cupcakes to a couple who we are friends with through baseball. Both of their teenage kids are in Arizona visiting their grandmother for a month, so I thought something sweet would help with the “empty nester” syndrome they have been experiencing.

One of my husband’s cousins and I always joke around about those “nailed it” memes out there when it comes to desserts. But for this one, I feel like I can safely say I definitely nailed it!

2015-07-04_19-58-35

One thought on “Stars and Stripes Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Fourth of July Celebration Cake | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

