Fireball Cupcakes

Baking date: September 3, 2015

There are a number of sports moms in my circle of friends. One of the those moms has been a friend now for a number of years — our oldest sons have played baseball, football, and basketball together.

With her birthday fast approaching, plans for a couples night out in Baltimore had gotten cancelled (long story). So the gals in the group decided a Thursday evening Happy Hour at the local tavern was in order.

I decided I could not show up empty-handed, and found a recipe for Fireball cupcakes. My friend is a big fan of Fireball, so this was going to a perfect way to toast her birthday at the Happy Hour. On the way home from work Wednesday evening, I made a pit stop at the liquor store:

Fireball!

Fireball!

The inspiration recipe looked easy enough. I do find that any recipe that calls for canola oil makes the cake so much more moist. I’ve made a number of liquor-infused cupcakes, and canola oil just works best in these recipes.

One tip I have for any liquor-infused cupcake is that when they come out of the oven, brush the top with more of the liquor. The warm cupcakes will soak in the alcohol, since most of it bakes off in the batter (in this recipe, the 1 cup of water was substituted with 1 cup of Fireball).

While the recipe looked good, I wanted to do something really special in terms of presentation for these cupcakes. I started with gold foil cupcake liners.

I could have done the simple frosting with sprinkles, but I amped it up a notch. Or two.

Here are photos of the inspiration cupcakes:

With bright sprinkles on top

With bright sprinkles on top

With cinnamon red hot candies on top

With cinnamon red hot candies on top

I also added Fireball to the frosting (a 1/2 teaspoon in each color). Since this was a recipe I was making mid-week, I used canned frosting to cut down on the prep time. (And full disclosure, I was working from home the day after I made this, so I had a bit more time than I normally would on a work night).

I dyed the white frosting red, golden yellow, and orange. Using the Wilton color swirl three-color coupler, I piped the frosting on using a 1M tip, in a swirl.

I topped most of the cupcakes with heart-shaped candy melts in yellow/orange/red. I started with the heart mold, using melted yellow in the bottom (then in the fridge to set), followed by melted orange in the middle (again, into the fridge to set), and finally melted red on top (back into the fridge for final set). I also used red candy melts to make free-hand devil horns and pitchfork shapes, with red sugar sprinkles on them. Here’s how the cupcakes turned out:

IMG_0348 IMG_0349

I purchased a special cupcake box to take with me to the Tavern, for a fun, easy way to transport the goodies.

Cupcakes in the Celebrate box

Cupcakes in the Celebrate box

Here is a photo of each cupcake, up close:

Naughty or nice?

Naughty or nice?

Of course, I posted this to Facebook:

Facebook Fireball

We had a great time at Happy Hour and toasted the birthday girl with Fireball cupcakes (and some Fireball shots). Cheers Michelle and sincere wishes for many more birthdays for us to celebrate with you!

One thought on “Fireball Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Treats and Dessert Breads | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

