Sweet 16 Birthday Cake (Guest Baker Post)

Baking date: September 1, 2015

My oldest niece Eva turned 16 on September 1. She lives in Toronto, and we get to see my sister’s family twice a year, if we are lucky. We share lots of special events via email, Facetime, and photo-sharing.

On September 1, my parents, my two other sisters, and I all received an email with a photo attached of Eva’s cake. Eva is a free spirit, fierce, and marches to her own drummer. I love her independence! She wasn’t going to want the standard sparkly, girlie, pink, or any other stereotypical “sweet 16” cake.

So my sister made her a chocolate cake, with the decorations done freehand. This cake wasn’t typical, which is why I love it so much.

Birthday cake

Happy birthday Eva! And for those of you in the Richmond Hill area of Toronto — you’ve been warned!

Leave a Reply

