Margarita Cupcakes

Baking date: November 21, 2015

My friend Lou’s birthday is one day after my husband’s. He’s not a big party guy, but Lou is one of my party sisters. We love a good time, and liquor is the icing on the cupcake, so to speak.

For her birthday, I decided to make margarita cupcakes. This is a recipe I’ve made before. It’s fairly easy – the hardest part is juicing the limes. And the icing – it is so good I could eat it straight out of the bowl. Maybe it’s the tequila and Grand Marnier…

IMG_0608

Even our cupcakes are top shelf, of course

maybe it’s the fresh squeezed lime juice…maybe the lime zest. Whatever it is, this frosting is amazing!

IMG_0605

For the actual cupcake, I substitute any vegetable oil the mix requires with canola oil. I find that canola oil makes my cakes more moist and airy.

I used a 1M star tip to frost the cupcakes.  This makes just enough to frost 24 cupcakes, but I forgot that the recipe makes more than 24 cupcakes. In the future, I will double the frosting recipe to ensure better cupcake coverage. Leftover frosting could be used for something, I’m sure!

Here are the finished cupcakes:

IMG_0609

And here’s one up close:

IMG_0610

Cheers and Happy Birthday, Lou!

Leave a Reply

