Chocolate Basketball Cupcakes

Baking date: January 17, 2016

I was commissioned to make cupcakes for one of my son Alex’s friends who plays on the same basketball team.  The request was fairly simple — some sort of basketball-themed cupcakes to share with the team after their Sunday game.

I had found a mix for triple chocolate fudge cake that I decided to try for this. As with all cake mixes, I added a tablespoon of vanilla to give it more of a home made flavor.

supermoist-triple-chocolate-fudge

I frosted the cupcakes using a vanilla-flavored can mix. As I frosted each cupcake, I dipped it into orange sugar sprinkles to cover the top completely. I then used some of the vanilla frosting dyed black to pipe the lines on the basketball. The final touch was to add a Lion paw on the basketball with royal blue sparkle gel.

Here are the cupcakes all decorated and ready for the hungry 13 and 14 year olds on the team:

IMG_0822IMG_0823

Happy Birthday, Jacob!

Leave a Reply

