Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting

Baking date: February 3, 2016

On February 4, my staff, other colleagues and I were participating in an online fair for Premed students, where we would be answering questions from 12 – 8pm  ET. It was going to be a long day, so I decided to make goodies to provide an energy boost for those who would need a pick-me-up during the eight hours.

I had pinned for dark chocolate mini-cupcakes with salted caramel frosting. I had trouble finding the dark chocolate powder at my local grocery, so that’s why I went with a box cake mix. That, and it was a weeknight baking adventure. Weeknight baking requires some shortcuts! I hope to make the dark chocolate cupcakes in the future.

I decided to use the triple chocolate fudge cake mix, which has become a favorite go-to for chocolate cake box mixes. As with all box mixes I use, I added a tablespoon of vanilla to give it more of a “home made” flavor.

But I did make the salted caramel buttercream frosting and sprinkled sea salt on top once the cupcakes were frosted. The frosting recipe makes enough for 24 cupcakes, but only if you frost them using an icing spatula and not with fancy designs using tips. There was some of the frosting left over, but it wouldn’t have been enough to pipe on fancy swirls with a 1A or 1D tip.

The treat gave folks a nice little boost late in the afternoon as we pushed into the evening hours answering lots of questions from the Premed students. And even though the cupcake part was from a box, it still received rave reviews.

It’s great to have a very willing staff to test your recipes with!

 

 

Leave a Reply

