Heart-shaped Basketball Chocolate Sugar Cookies

Baking date: February 13, 2016

My oldest son’s basketball team had a game on Valentine’s Day this year, so I decided to make cookies for the team and the fans (parents, siblings, grandparents, etc.) who attended the game. I made heart-shaped cookies designed like basketballs.

I used two sizes of hearts. For the larger size heart, I decorated them like basketballs with each players’ number on the cookie. The smaller hearts were decorated like basketballs with no specific player information.

The cookie was a new go-to favorite recipe — chocolate sugar cookies. I used royal icing dyed in orange, royal blue (one of the team colors), and black to create the basketball design. For my royal icing recipe, I replace one of the tablespoons of water with 1 tablespoon of almond extract to give the icing some flavor (and the almond goes well with the chocolate cookies).

First I outlined all the cookies in orange so I could flood them. For the larger cookies, I made one for each player and the two coaches. Once I flooded the cookies with orange, and before they set, I piped on the black seams with a #2 tip. I piped on each players number in royal blue with a #1 tip. The last step was sprinkling orange colored sugar on top of the cookies. Here are the finished cookies for the players and coaches:

IMG_0921

There were tons of the smaller heart-shaped cookies. Each was decorated the same way as the larger cookies, but without the number or Lion paw. Here’s an up close photo of the smaller cookies and the full container:

When I got to the end of the cookie dough, I took the last outline of a cutout cookie and made that into a reverse out heart with orange icing and dots of royal blue around the edge.

IMG_0925

The cookies were a big hit. As I mentioned, the almond extract with the chocolate cookie flavor was a nice complement. It was a fun way to celebrate Valentine’s Day with teenage boys who love sports.

 

Leave a Reply

