Chocolate Cupcakes with Milk Chocolate Ganache Icing

Baking date: May 13, 2016

My youngest son Nick is a simple kid. He has 5 basic food groups – hot dogs, chicken nuggets, plain cheeseburgers, and spaghetti with meatballs. The 6th food group is chocolate cupcakes or cake with chocolate frosting.

Because his birthday fell on a day he had a lacrosse game this year, I made cupcakes for his team – chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting – as per his request.  I had found and used a recipe for easy chocolate ganache frosting that called for semi-sweet chips and thought I might try it with milk chocolate chips.

The last time I made the recipe with the semi-sweet chips and letting it set/firm up in the frig for a few hours, the frosting turned out looking like this when piped on the on the cupcakes:

IMG_0960

Let’s just say the milk chocolate version doesn’t set as well as the semi-sweet version — even after sitting in the frig overnight. I tried to pipe on the milk chocolate version on the first cupcake. As I piped it on, the fancy swirl “melted” before my eyes.

I quickly shifted gears and spread the frosting on. So Nick’s birthday cupcakes ended up looking like this, with colored jimmies to give them a bit of flair:

IMG_1225IMG_1226

My son and his teammates didn’t seem to care that the cupcakes didn’t have a fancy swirl. They ate them up with smiles on their faces. And Nick was happy to have some extras to enjoy throughout the weekend.

Happy Birthday, Nick!

Leave a Reply

