Baseball Diamond Cupcakes Cake

Baking date: June 2, 2016

This is part 2 of a request by a friend of mine. The first was for her daughter’s 16th birthday party. This was for her son’s 8th grade graduation.

Her son and my son played baseball on the same travel/All Star team for a number of years (he has since moved to another team), have played football together, and basketball through recreational leagues. He goes to a local Catholic school and will be attending the public high school with many of his non-Catholic school friends next year.

I’ve made cakes for him before – about four home run cakes and a grand slam cupcake cake when he played baseball with my son. For his graduation,  he had requested another baseball diamond cupcake cake and he wanted it to be butterscotch.

I went to Pinterest to find a butterscotch cupcake recipe. The recipe I selected included a butterscotch frosting as well. I used white/blue/green cupcake wrappers that I found at the local grocery store because those are his school colors.

I set up the cupcakes on the board:

IMG_1298

And then I pulled up the photo of the last time I made this, so I could see where the “dirt” and the grass portions of the decorating should go:

IMG_1671

To frost the cupcakes, I used a wedding cupcake buttercream – it works just fine on regular cakes also. I then dipped the infield “dirt” portions in turtle brownie crunch. For the grass portions, I used vibrant green vanilla frosting and a #233 tip to pipe it on. The trick with the grass is to fill in the holes between the cupcakes. I start from the edge of the cupcakes and stretch the grass to the next cupcake. I build on that network, but inevitably, you’ll find that some of the icing sinks between the cupcakes.

I used some of the buttercream to pipe on the foul lines and the batters boxes.

I used bright white candy melts that I piped onto wax paper in the shape of bases and home plate to finish up the infield. The bright white candy melts were also used to make the large and small star shapes, with green frosting used to write letters on the stars.

I used two of the cupcakes to hold bright white candy melt baseballs. I used red sparkle gel to add the seams on the baseballs, but the sparkle gel is a little too runny for this. I’m slowly eliminating it from my supplies, as it tends to get runny after opening and it takes forever to dry (if it ever does completely dry).

Here’s the final design:

IMG_1304

Of course, I see the spots I missed with icing — no grass on the back end of cupcake with the pitcher’s mound. I wasn’t consistent with the placement of the grass along the foul lines in the outfield. And getting straight foul lines on all the cupcakes from home plate to the outfield was a bit of a challenge.

Here’s a view from the side:

IMG_1306

In spite of the flaws I saw, the graduate was thrilled. Congrats Mickey – can’t wait for you to join Lions Nation next year for high school.

Mikey

One thought on “Baseball Diamond Cupcakes Cake

  1. Pingback: Butterscotch Cake with Butterscotch Frosting | Sweet Sweet Muffins

Leave a Reply

