Butterscotch Cake with Butterscotch Frosting

Baking date: June 3, 2016

This cake was my gift to a family we know. I was commissioned to make their son’s middle school graduation cake (he picked a baseball diamond cupcake cake), but I wanted to do something a little extra. We’ve been friends with his family for more than 6 years, and he has played on many of the same sports teams as my oldest son.

Mickey asked for butterscotch cupcakes, so I decided to use the recipe for butterscotch cupcakes I found on Pinterest to make a cake and the frosting.  Baker’s note: I did not add the butterscotch extract (or any of the other flavoring substitutes noted) to the frosting. I felt like the butterscotch topping that was included was fine in terms of flavor. Too much of a good thing, and all.

I made the cake using two 9″ round pans. I frosted the cake with the icing. I used the letters fondant mold, using a brush to dust corn starch in the mold to help remove the letters once they set. I used candy melts in green and dark blue, his middle school colors. I spelled out FUTURE LION, since he will be joining many of his friends at the high school this year. Baker’s note: while the Wilton rep I called on the phone said that the fondant mold could be used for candy melts, and I found the corn starch tip online, I still find removing the letters from the mold challenging. I find that I always have a few letters that need to be pieced back together, although if you use no corn starch,  almost every letter is sure to break when removing it from the mold.

Here’s a photo of the top of the cake:

IMG_1308

I used a large paw mold to make the lion paw in dark blue and yellow candy melts for the top of the cake, and used the small paw mold to make candies for around the side of the cake.

Around the bottom edge of the cake, I added bursts with a #35 tip. On top of each burst, I placed a butterscotch chip. Here’s the cake from the side:

IMG_1302

Congrats, Mickey!

 

Leave a Reply

