Freshman Care Packages

Baking date: a couple of weekends in August in September

I can’t remember when I started doing this, but a few years back I began sending homemade cookie care packages to friends’ kids who were heading off to college, with a note of encouragement. I remember when I started college, my mom sent me a care package of cookies and a note. It made whatever was happening during that transition to life away from home just a little bit sweeter.

As my own boys get older, there are more and more people I know who have kids heading off to college. Even though I send the packages via USPS priority mail second day delivery (yes, I lie when they ask me if there is anything perishable in the package – don’t rat me out!) for only $6.80, this year I spent over $60 on mailing out the packages.

Maybe I need to transition to a big bag of cookies they can pack in the car when they head off to college…

This year’s list of recipients included kids who were first born, youngest, and middle children. For many of the kids, I feel like the moms need the treats more to cope with a first born leaving or dealing with the now empty nest.

Most of the kids had attended the local high school. I made chocolate chip cookies (I use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet) and also royal blue and yellow lion paw candy melts.

The first batch went to destinations in TN, SC, and TN:

first-batch

One of the students got my cell # from his mom and called me to personally thank me. One student sent me a message via Facebook:

thankyouzac

And a mom gave me a shout out on Facebook:

 

thanks-from-schelby

The second batch of goodies went out to TN and WV: second-batch-of-cookies

 

These included the same chocolate chip cookies and “paws” candies. For Lana – it was blue/gold paws for her high school team the Lions, and orange/black paws for her new college team, the Bobcats.

Lana Cookies.jpg

I got tagged in this post on Facebook:

lana-cookies-thank-you

For my niece Madison, it was green/black paws, which were the colors of her high school team, the Panthers. I also included some quarters since she was going to need them for laundry:

madi

She send me this note:

The final packages went out a bit later to DE, my alma mater Towson in MD, and VA:

post-about-second-batch-of-cookies

I got a thank you from my college roommate whose daughter is now going to our alma mater:

thank-you-karly

And for two of them, the cookies came when they were needed most:

thankyoufromjennsheila-ty

All in all, $60 well spent. Best of luck to all the students!

 

Leave a Reply

