Hot Chocolate Cake

Baking date: October 15, 2016

My college roommate at Towson State University (as it was known at the time) was a gal from an area of Maryland, equally as rural as the place in Maryland where I grew up. Funny story – I ended up moving to the small town where she grew up to raise my family. She also lives close by, but in another school district. Over the years we have remained good friends – we have sons that were born one day apart.

Alex and Kendall are both athletic.  In middle school, both boys made the elite basketball team for their respective schools and were often on the court up against one another. Kendall excels at basketball and soccer. Alex has found his home behind the plate as catcher and on the football field. It’s a bit sad that we won’t see Alex and Kendall go up against one another any more as they head into high school.

So, it was great news to hear that as a freshman, Kendall had made the varsity soccer team for his high school. But it was terrible news to hear that Kendall had injured his knee before the first game of the season and would require surgery to reconstruct his ACL.

The day after his surgery, I arrived at their home to provide wishes for a speedy recovery in the form of a hot chocolate cake. The first recipe I found called for a now discontinued International Delights frozen hot chocolate, so I had to find another recipe. This is the recipe I eventually decided on, which includes the cake, chocolate frosting and marshmallow buttercream.

I made the cake in two 9″ layers. Note that the butter needs to be room temperature, along with the eggs, so allow time for that. When it came to icing the cake, I didn’t use the “nesting” technique described in the recipe because I wanted to write a message on top of the cake. In between the two layers was the chocolate buttercream, but I also swirled on marshmallow buttercream.

Here’s how my cake turned out, with the marshmallow buttercream piped on for the message:

img_1905

And a view from the side. I piped the marshmallow buttercream up the side in lines and added mini-marshmallows around the base of the cake, anchored with a layer of the marshmallow buttercream.

img_1906

Kendall said it definitely tasted like hot chocolate and assured me it would help with the healing process.

It must have worked because his surgery went well and he’s now on the mend. Heal fast and get back out on the field and court soon, Kendall!

kendall

Brace off less than 2 weeks after surgery!

2 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Cake

  1. So glad you enjoyed the cake recipe! It looks beautiful! PS: we’re practically neighbors, I lived in Baltimore County and work right by Towson, and 3 of my sisters went to Towson University 🙂

Leave a Reply

