21st Birthday Cake

Baking date: May 20, 2017

The 21st birthday for my friend Lou’s daughter was celebrated at the Springfield Manor Winery and Distillery. Lou had reserved a large table, ordered sangrias, wines and food, and even secured a stretch limo to get us all to and from the venue safely. The party guests included good friends and family:

Ladies at the table (1)

All the ladies

a number of which were mothers/daughters that Lana (the birthday girl) had grown up with:

Moms and daughters

I have known Lana and her mom for many years – our sons have played baseball together for 8 years, and basketball a number of years. So — of course — a special cake was my gift to the birthday girl. Her mom told me chocolate on chocolate was good. And her favorite color is blue.

I made both the one bowl chocolate cake and the chocolate ganache frosting from scratch, which included cocoa powder. The very same cocoa powder that fell out of the cabinet at one point. The top popped off and the cocoa powder ended up all over my mixer. I’ll bet this shit never happens to Martha Stewart.

IMG_0268

For the decorations on top of the cake, I hand-piped a two and a one using bright white candy melts. I covered the numbers with royal blue sugar. I piped on bursts of the ganache and set the “2” and the “1” into the ganache.

Using a very small star tip, I piped Lana’s name in script using the ganache. I then placed blue sugar pearls in the center of each small burst.

Around the top edge of the cake, I piped shells using star tip #21. Inside the shells, I filled in with large blue and white sugar crystals.

IMG_0270

Around the base of the cake, I piped on bursts of ganache and placed a white sugar pearls in the center of each burst.

IMG_0269

Happy 21st birthday, sweet Lana. And thanks for having me be part of your special celebration!

Lana

Leave a Reply

