HOPE Cookies

Decorating date: December 24, 2023

I have a dear friend who has been in a 10 year battle with triple negative breast cancer. Whenever I have the opportunity to make her a treat, I do. She has found the word “HOPE” to be her guiding light through her cancer journey – the ups, the downs, the setbacks, and the small triumphs. Her religious faith and her belief in HOPE have given her strength when she felt she was unable to go on.

For Christmas, I made sure I had put aside some of the extra gingerbread roll out cookies in candy cane shapes, as well as one Christmas tree shape for her and her family. I decorated three candy canes in blue cookie icing and white decorations (her three children have all gone to or are attending Penn State), and one candy cane and a Christmas tree in white cookie icing with pink decorations. Here is a picture she posted on Facebook after I delivered the cookies:

I also made sure I used some of the chocolate sugar cookie dough with my JB College Font (4″ size) cookie cutters for the word HOPE. I used white cookie icing to flood the cookies and placed pink candy heart decorations on each letter. Once that had set, I piped on white cookie icing to outline the cookies and then sprinkled Wilton pink sparkling sanding sugar around the edges.

I HOPE that everyone can find a way to bring love and light to friends and family, not only during the holidays, but whenever you have the opportunity.

Leave a comment